Following the success of danceXmusic in spring 2010, La Monnaie and P.A.R.T.S. join together in a new project allowing the students of one of the most reputable and selective contemporary dance schools in the world to create works as dancers and choreographers in professional conditions with the participation of soloists from La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra. After the 20th century music heard in the first edition, the 19th century repertoire will constitute the musical material for danceXmusic 2 for the students in second and fourth years. On this occasion, La Monnaie wished to add an important novelty by associating young singers from the Queen Elisabeth Music Chapel, whose talent also contributes to the creation of this work, presented for four evenings.


January 2012 – 8pm

Jason Respilieux & Alexander Vantournhout
Zygmunt Kowalski (violin), Raphaël Feye (cello), Inge Spinette (piano)
Dmitri Shostakovich, Piano Trio N° 2, op.67 (1944): Allegretto
Solo.Op.91 for Brahms
Renan Martins de Oliveira
Camille Merckx (mezzo), Yves Cortvrint (viola), Philippe Riga (piano)
Johannes Brahms, Zwei Gesänge, op.91 (1884)

Lost voyage
Sven Bahat, Alexandra Dolgova & Nathan Jardin
Raymond Dils (clarinet), Philippe Riga (piano)
Francis Poulenc, Sonate pour clarinette et piano (1962): Deuxième mouvement

NATIVE RED/THUNDER DREAMERS / Maya Owicha Paka – One Who Pushes Another Off a Cliff *
Bryana Fritz & Christoffer Schieche
Amalia Avilán (soprano), Raymond Dils (clarinet), Philippe Riga (piano) Yves Cortvrint (viola)
Franz Schubert, Der Hirt auf dem Felsen, D.965 (1828)
Igor Stravinsky, Élégie pour alto (1944)
* Usage of a stroboscope<

Charles Ngombengombe & Roman Van Houtven
Femke Sonnen (violin)
Eugène Ysaÿe, Sonate n°3 pour violon, op.27 (1924)

Mouvement pour quatuor
Claire Croizé & Étienne Guilloteau (choreography)
Polina Akhmetzyanova, Eleanor Campbell, Louis Combeaud, José Paulo dos Santos, Youness Khoukhou, Radouan Mriziga, Alma Palacios, Michiel Vandevelde
Quatuor mp4: Claire Bourdet, Margaret Hermant (violin), Pierre Heneaux (ciola), Merryl Havard (cello)
Anton Webern, Streichquartett (1905), annotated and commented by Alain Franco, with excerpts from Anton Bruckner, Antoine Duhamel, Arnold Schoenberg, Richard Strauss & Anton Webern


Salle Malibran
23, rue Léopold
1000 Brussels
For MYchapel members: FREE
Entrance for non-members: 10EUR
Drinks at the interval included: let’s meet after the performance, to meet the artists, dancers, musicians and singers in the Salle Fiocco and other MYchapel members